Sign in to follow this  
steve u

Open baffle speaker build

I am considering building some open baffle speakers.

I have never built anything like this before and have found some kits available which supposedly supply everything for you. These are the ones,

http://www.pureaudioproject.com/cube-10-open-baffle-speakers/

I would be interested in opinions on a project like this and also opinions on options or alternatives to this product. While I am a fan of high efficiency full range speakers, I have never heard anything like this product and also would like opinions on what the end product may sound like, or where it might excel or lack in performance when in use.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Steve 

I've got to say, that's a great design.

Try them and let us know what you think!

(open baffles usually don't have a lot of bass, so if that's your thing, you might want to reconsider)

If you're not in a hurry to get stuck into this, I will be able to offer you comprehensive information on pureaudioproject and their offerings.
I have in transit to me as we speak, their Trio15 TB, and shortly after another model.

What I can say is Ze'ev, who you deal with when you contact them is one of the nicest, most accommodating guys I've ever come across! Certainly knowledgeable too.

I think this company is going to enjoy some great success.

That is a very interesting project ,would like to know the outcome when finished.

The drivers are all here. The brackets/feet kit has shipped from Israel, and my baffles are leaving direct from Germany this week sometime.

We've also ordered the Blue Jeans Cable speaker cables direct as per PAP's recommendation.

Looking forward to assembly. :)

Anyone got a rough pricing on these yet?