Sign in to follow this  
n.litzow

Speaker Pairing for Rotel RA-1520

Hello everyone,

I am new to Hi-Fi but am just assembling my first (entry-level) serious system. I just bought a Rotel RA-1520 integrated amplifier and now I am on the lookout for a set of bookshelf speakers that would be a good match. This is for a 10m x 3.6m x 3m quite dead (mostly carpeted) open-plan space. The lady of the house has dictated that floorstanders are not an option. Ultimately I would also be looking to add a subwoofer to the mix to adequately cover the bass. At the moment I am just using a Pro-ject DAC box for input which I will also upgrade down the track.

I was thinking to spend $AUD1000-1500 but could stretch to $2000 if there is a significant and justifiable increase in quality.

I know that the only way to pick speakers is by auditioning them which I plan to do shortly. However, it would be very helpful to have a list of vetted options on which to focus. There is an incredible number of different options out there. It would also be helpful to get an Australian perspective given the different pricing and availability here.

So far I've only listened to the Polk LSiM703 which I thought were excellent. A lot of people talk about B&W being a good match for Rotel (685, CM1, CM5). From other forums, KEF (Q300, R300, R100, LS50), Dynaudio (Excite X12, DM 2/6, DM 2/7), ATC (SCM11) and PMC (DB1i, twenty .21/.22) have also been recommended, though the latter are a little out of my league.

If anyone could share their experiences with the above or suggest any other options, it would be very much appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

Nick

Edited by n.litzow

with 60w, looks for higher sens speakers with good impedance and phase plot.

ATC is out of question, they need 200w :)

anything above 90db. its rare :), to get a good bass with small cones need to be lower sensitivity.

u could DIY though :).

i would suggest to try usher s520, its a good entry level speakers.