Sign in to follow this  
alexc

To power amp or not!

Recently updated my system and still trying to get rid of the upgrade bug  :)

Currently running some B & W CM9s and CMC2 through a Yamaha RX-A820 and wondering if I should get a power amp. And if so which one!

Definitely a power amp IMO. I have owned only Yamaha rx-v series my entire life and then I bought the rx-v1900 which had a completely different sound to my previous model. I have just recently added an Elektra HD which I got for $2500 (ex demo). I was going to get the first version of it on here second hand at $1800 which is a bargain for a 7 ch amp that does 185wrms and up depending on the speaker impedence.

More people should be able to chime in as i'm new to power amps but it made a considerable difference to my Aarons that I have had for a long time. For me its hard to describe how good it is as it just gives the speaker (my speakers ATS5) the fullness I think that a receiver cannot. I could also drive the speakers to there limits where they did not distort but I found they just fell over like there limit was reached cleanly?

My Elektra HD is a keeper for me as it is everything I wanted for my speakers...

http://clefhifi.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=56&products_id=70&osCsid=eda1c956e4ea8393c481887ae24b3c7b

Absolutely get a power amp.  Those speakers are far too good for a reciever like that (not to belittle yamaha but a $4K pair of speakers should not ideally be paired with a sub $1K receiver).  The combo probably sounds fine, but it could sound a whole lot better.

Which power amp is a question of how many channels you want and what your budget is, these links should whet your appetite (at least a little).

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/QUAD-99-Power-Amp-2-x-90-Watts-RMS-/321102251152?pt=AU_Electronics_Audio_Amplifiers&hash=item4ac32f8490

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Primare-30-5-Power-Amplifier-/251256383536?pt=AU_Electronics_Audio_Amplifiers&hash=item3a800c2830