Hi All,

I realise this is a very common request but I'm hoping someone can help me with upgrading my home theatre audio? I have very little experience with audio tech.

I currently have a 5 year old Yamaha RX - V381 receiver and a set of budget Yamaha HTiB 5.1 speakers.

From reading lots of posts, I'm not sure whether to get a good 3.1 set up going and then adding surrounds later or go for a full 5.1 package.

Ideally I'd like to keep the receiver for now if it's anyway capable of handling a better set of speakers?

Room is small, 3x3m ish.
Used for Movies, TV and PC gaming.
Location Perth.
Budget approx. $1000

What would be the opinion of the following or any other better options?

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/158810829443172/

https://www.harveynorman.com.au/yamaha-ns51-series-5-1-channel-speaker-package.html

https://www.harveynorman.com.au/yamaha-5-1-channel-speaker-system.html

Thanks.

Welcome

I like being used, but that means you have to know what to look for. 

Buying at HN means you can pay it off.

I hope that there are members here that knows the different sets of speakers and give better advice.

I personally either like 2 (2.1) channel or 5.1

My advice is to go to the shops e.g. HN JB HiFi  people selling stuff and listen to what you can afford.

Buy what you like.

• Thanks 1

We have similar sized room at 3 x 3.4m and with minimal budget, my suggestion is to buy used instead of brand new to maximize performance.

I have a 5.1.2 atmos set-up in that room and just spent $1000 for all 9 speakers (upgraded the included Yamaha center to a used Dali center) and Yamaha atmos amplifier including room treatments and cables. Just scroll though fb marketplace or gumtree daily for good deals.

Usually, the used market sells complete 5.1 or 7.1 systems but if you can find a good quality 3.1 system, you can initially use your existing 4 HTIB speakers for surrounds /atmos.

• Thanks 1

:welcome:to the forum...