Hi folks, 

I would like to discuss the impact of a good quality RCA cable on the brightness or otherwise of my current setup - Yamaha WXAD-10 (Streamer) - Rega Brio R - Focal Aria 906 (bookshelf). 

The Aria's are known for being on the brighter side of things. Many of the higher quality RCA's claim to add additional brightness to the sound. Similar feedback is provided in relation to speaker cables as well. 

I am still relatively new to this .

Am I over thinking this. Any advice would be welcome. 

Thanks in advance.

Cheers, 

Jol

Hi Jol

In my opinion.   Silver adds more detail to the mids  and upper register, Which people misunderstand and say it’s brighter.  Pure copper will add warmth. Or maybe could be considered slightly less upper register

if your worried about too much so called brightness, then try a hybrid copper / silver cable.  I’m sure that will give you best of both worlds 

Cheers 

Bill  

• Like 4
  • Love 1

Also the differences between cables will be small. Some hear it more than others, some don't hear it at all. Think Bill makes some with just pure japenese OFC yeah?

If you're finding the speakers too bright. The best results will obviously be from changing speakers (dur), then amp section, then maybe exploring EQ (very effective, if you're into it), then cables. Wacking in the warmest RCA cable isn't going to make bright speakers not bright.

5 minutes ago, Bengineer said:

If you're finding the speakers too bright. The best results will obviously be from changing speakers (dur), then amp section, then maybe exploring EQ (very effective, if you're into it), then cables. Wacking in the warmest RCA cable isn't going to make bright speakers not bright.

Definitely.

Although good cables can often make significant improvements in the sound of a given system, they are not a magic bullet and should not be used like  tone controls.

• Like 4