Blu-ray with optical cable out, or dedicated CD player?

I'm a newbie, so patience if necessary, please ...

I have old speakers, turntable and cassette deck I'm happy with, and have just purchased a Marantz PM-6007 stereo amplifier, which has the AKM AK4490 DAC. I will probably buy a dedicated CD player eventually. My question is, purely from an audio perspective, do I gain a lot by buying (say) a matching Marantz CD player, or will I get similar results by playing CDs on my Blu-ray (Panasonic DMP-BD65) with an optical cable out? (I say "purely from an audio perspective" because I want to be able to program CD playback to exclude tracks or vary the sequence. The 600x Marantz players also have a useful USB input. ) Anything else I should consider?

Edited by sr4d

I was looking to get to the bottom of myself a few months ago, I have a Yamaha unit similar to that Panasonic

from my readings, I concluded that, assuming no significant problems with jitter etc., the source of digital 1s and 0s into a half decent DAC (i.e. one you are otherwise happy with) will have minimal impact until you start getting towards the higher end of mid-fi

my amp has pretty slick D2A trickery so I passed on a new CDP

But I've no personal experience and was more curios if a 2nd hand device at say $200-300 would yield a noticeable improvement

my other takeaways: 

- its a CD "transport" when just the digital is passed, i.e. no analogue conversion occurring ( i didn't kno OK 😕 ) 

- let your ears decide if you can. is a trail an option? also the CDP may do both digital and analogue out for a comparison

- in earlier generations the CDP generally did a better D2A than that in an integrated amp, but that is changing now with more emphasis on digital performance (both separates or in an amp), not to say there's no examples of older CDPs still holding there own against the new