Need help with my CD player issue!

Guest Newbinfo

Guest Newbinfo

Hey guys, hoping someone can help me out here. I'm new to repairing hifi and would love to learn :)

Issue: Well, it just seems to struggle to read the disc, then makes loud high frequency noise, then it just stops and says "no disc".

I began trying to teach myself using Youtube and other sources, but some problems I just cant find the answers to.

Anyway, Here is a video of my issue:

The CD player brand/ model is: Advance Acoustic MCD-200.

If someone knows or has an idea of what the problem could be, please let me know :)

Thanks!

@Newbinfo

I fix CD players and my wife says that there surely must be easier ways of making money...

You have a long road ahead of you my friend if you want to fix electronic stuff. First step is to enroll at TAFE and do a Diploma in Electronics Engineering for a bit of knowledge of how stuff works comes useful on many occasions.

As far as your current problem, we would need a video showing what is actually happening.

Which will be pretty hard to do, given it is a DVD mechanism and the disc clamp is part of the cover you have just removed...

No CD player will ever read a CD with no clamp in place.

If you are determined to see what is happening, remove the CD clamp from the unit's lid and once the CD tray goes in put it in place.

Then you will see if the head travels to the centre of the CD, laser hunts for disc, locks in, reads T.O.C. and what is does from then on.

More practical solution is to replace the complete mechanism assembly. You won't have to worry about limit switches at the like.

The problem is pretty much like the @pwstereo said.

And also that it is a mass produced $10 DVD mechanism which might have been at the limit of passing the specs at factory and now, being slightly worn, it does so no more.

Clean the lens with isopropyl alcohol as the first step before replacing the mech.