Power / Pre or Integrated - what to do?!

Hi All,

I've come back to the mountain for advice.

I'm slowly upgrading my system, next item I want to purchase is an amplifier / amplifiers. I recently upgraded to a pair of Sansui SP-300 speakers, which are awesome. They are so clear and transparent when playing music that has 'space', eg jazz. And when I play Pink Floyd Dark side of the moon, they blow me away. It's like the notes are falling out of the air right in front of me. However they are only ok on music that is hard / fast eg rock. I suspect it's down to my current amp, which is a Rega Brio. It's a great little integrated amp, worked really well with my previous Quad bookshelf speakers, but it's time for something that does the Sansuis justice.

I am a novice when it comes to Hifi, but from what I have read, gleaned from forums etc, I am leaning towards 2 options for amplifiers. My total budget is $2k overall, and the options are as follows;

Option 1 - A Power and Pre Amp combo. Maybe a tube pre-amp and solid state power amp? I've seen a couple of Quad power amps that look good (405 or the 305) however I am not sure what I should be looking for. One question I have is the Sansui speakers have a maximum input of 50W, does this mean that any power amp that delivers more than 50W is an overkill?

The other issue with this option is the cost for a decent tube pre-amp seems to be high, as well as I am nervous about shipping a used tube amp due to damage (not sure if this is a real concern?). 

Option 2 - A vintage integrated amp, like a Sansui, Luxman or Marantz. A lot of what I have read seems to suggest that the Sansui speakers like to be paired with amps from a similar era?

Some other points;

- I have a Luxman PD290 turntable with an Ortofon blue cartridge.

- I am happy to buy second hand

- I am looking for a great sounding setup, rather than an 'audiophile' system (not that there's anything wrong with that :)