Help with Headphones and HPA

I know these types of threads are a dime a dozen and perhaps I’m being a little lazy too but, well, here goes.......

So, I’m a complete and utter novice at headphones. So much so I don’t even have a headphone jack in my house (oh, there’s one on the kids PS4 controllers so not completely without) but am thinking of adding headphone capability to my system. Assume it’s as simple as connecting in a HPA between my pre and power amps. Correct? 

So the big question is where to start? My music listening is fairly varied but staples are rock/alternative, but also into male vocal stuff like Jack Garrett, also Massive Attack, even Sigur Rós when the moment grabs me. I began looking at headphones but there’s so many types and styles, impedances, wired vs unwired etc..... I think I’m aiming towards over ear, closed back ones. Assume the usual suspects would be Sennheiser, AKG, Sony (along with a plethora of other Japanese brands) etc etc. I have a shortlist that maybe are good, maybe they are not, I really have no idea. They include:

- AKG K240 Mk2 or K612

- Sony WH-1000XM3 or XM4

- Sennheiser Momentum

- Hifiman Sundara

Headphone amps I have even less of an idea obviously, I know jack about Schiit, or any other brand or even what models are compatible with what headphones or specs of headphones. 

So here’s where you come in. Say if you had an even $1k for some headphones and an amp, what would be your preferences or a tried and true combination? 

Also, where can I go to try any of your suggestions out east of Melbourne? I know of really only one place from my searching that seems to have a good selection and that’s Addicted to Audio in Kew.