Hi everyone

What would you recommend for a decent set of entry-level headphones? They'll need to be used in an office environment, so open-back is probably out. 

I'm thinking $200 but can flex a bit if needed. I'm a beginner in this space!

The AKG ones. K371 I think they are called.

Or for a bit of V shaped fun, a Beyer DT770 Pro on the used market.

• Like 1

An audio technica ATH m50x will be a good closed back within your budget. Slightly bass heavy, if you prefer that sort of sound. Alternatively, the ATH m40x is a more neutral sounding. I own the m40x and have heard the m50x extensively. I can easily recommend either of them based on your preferences. 

I don't get peoples fascination with the M40 and M50. Like a step up from the old ibuds maybe. But really isn't a well tuned headphone.

Have you heard them against much else?

Not trying to poo poo them, you like what you like, but I can't recommend them to people.

5 minutes ago, Bengineer said:

I don't get peoples fascination with the M40 and M50. Like a step up from the old ibuds maybe. But really isn't a well tuned headphone.

Have you heard them against much else?

Not trying to poo poo them, you like what you like, but I can't recommend them to people.

I have owned the M40x for quite a few years now and would definitely recommend them for the money (around 125-150 AUD - can be had for less during a deal). They are a fairly neutral headphone for what you pay. They are also fairly easy to drive and do not really need a dedicated HP amplifier - though they do sound better with an amp. I also own the Focal Elegia, which are better, but I had to pay a lot more to get there.

In my opinion, the M40x is a good buy at their price - and sounded better (to my ears) than similarly priced HPs that I have heard from Sony, JBL, Senn, Beats Studio etc.  I also have VE Monk+ earbuds, which are good quality earbuds (and better than the ibuds), and the M40x sounds quite a bit better than the VE Monks.