Hi There,

Good day...

I am new to Biking and looking to get into MTB world . Based on your experience , I am  looking for some pointers to a good entry level dual MTB bike ? 

Budget : around $3500

Thank you

Currently using Reid Falco road bike..

Edited by Drunken Monk
  • Drunken Monk changed the title to MTB Dual Suspension

In my experience go Giant. They have the best bang for buck. Namely being the biggest manufacturer of cycles in the world ( bar India), doing OEM for plenty of other companies.

Alu frames are best value imho. Don't get sucked in the carbon black hole ( pun intended).

Whether 29" or 650B....let the salesman guide you. Don't let him convince you need a 160mm travel bike.  You are a newbie....140mm or less will more than adequate.

My 2cents. good luck

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I would look at all the major brands (Giant, Merida, Specialized....) go to your local bike shop and ride a couple different brands. You will be surprised at how different they are.

You can also get a good deal on the previous years model if they have any, they won't differ much to the current years model.

Edited by Whites
Spelling
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Firstly, what sort of ‘mountain biking’ are you wanting to do?

Be aware that just about every bike shop will want to sell you a bike with 29 inch wheels, and a Large size frame, even if you’re 5’ 6” tall. The bike industry would like everyone to be on the same size bike, and they are on a push to get everyone on 29 inch wheels so they only have to make one size.

If you’re intending to ride in the bush, smaller wheels are much more manoeuvrable. Go for 27.5” aka 650B. Buy a frame size you feel comfortable on, if you’re stretching out to reach the bars, or can’t easily put your foot flat on the ground, it’s too big.