Power amp - old or new - March vs Carver Sunfire

Looking for any suggestions/advise.

I am looking for a power amp to run my VAF DCX Gen 4s.

Currently available to me is an old Carver Sunfire 300, and also in same price point is multiple new products from March Audio, both watt outputs are  similar.

As an Electrician by trade the idea of old electronics reliability is not something that sounds greatly appealing to me, but is it worth considering some of the older high end product?  

I dont have any audiable experience with high end vintage equipment, should it be something I look/listen into?

I'm into vintage gear, so there is a bias(?) Most amps 30+ years old will need some work. Vaguely recall that the Sunfire 300 is a nice amp though unsure if it has a speaker protection circuit, a must for all amps. The Sunfire 300 listed on gumtree looks nice however no mention of recent refurb, so the $1290- asking seems high. Plenty of good vintage amps (HK citation, yamaha,,,) that will do the job, once refurbished. If you don't want to do the work then suggest looking at new, March audio had a "return it within 2 weeks if you don't like it" clause. I've got a phase linear 400 that I will do the "white oak" upgrade, said to put a smile on everyones face. HK Cit 19 will do for time being.

• Like 1

Can't really comment on Carver Sunfire 300, but the Purifi amp from March Audio is better than many Class A AB amps. 

The MA amp has not had any review that I know of, but check out this video to give you some ideas.

• Like 1

Depends on your budget and what you are trying to setup as a system. There are many cheap old amps still running and sounding good, even with electronics old and off spec and needing attention at some point or just around the corner.