Sign in to follow this  
poeee

Best Entry Level Av Reciever?

I'm new to all this home HiFi stuff (been into car stuff for a little while).

I'm looking at setting up a good bang for buck system and interested in your thoughts on the best bang for buck or entry level AV reciever?

Sorry moderators! It's Friday and I have no idea why I posted it in the FOR SALE forum! :)

That's OK i've moved it for you :)

Sorry moderators! It's Friday and I have no idea why I posted it in the FOR SALE forum! :)[/b]

lol... no problems mate.

There are new Onkyo AVR's that are worth a look see.

I'm looking at setting up a good bang for buck system and interested in your thoughts on the best bang for buck or entry level AV reciever?[/b]

Hi Poeee

Just about to grab an Onkyo for my HT. This'll replace a Denon 2803. The onkyo 605 is a new model that has analogue up-conversion to HDMI as well as the Hi-res audio formats compatible with Blu-Ray and HD-DVD. Looks the goods for the money.

Cheers

M

I'm looking at a lot more entry level than the Onkyo 605.

I'm looking at a lot more entry level than the Onkyo 605.[/b]

Well Excuuuse me! :biggrin:

I guess I was using the servants entry and you are going through the front door...

Cheers

M

Nope, you read it wrong (or did I type it wrong?!)... Onkyo 605 is very much out of the price range I was thinking. Maybe less than 1/2 the price of the 605???? :biggrin:

At that price you are better off getting a 2 channel system to be honest.

cambridge audio[/b]

Hello Yardley-

I would have to agree the Cambridge offers great value at ~ $1000. In the $1500 to $2000 ish range I like the Rotel RSX1056 (now superceded) or its successor the RSX1057. All of these offer very good performance for your $.

Best

JA

I'm looking at setting up a good bang for buck system and interested in your thoughts on the best bang for buck or entry level AV reciever?[/b]

Poeee,