Help needed desperately !

Hi everyone, I am just starting out on my way into the Audiophile world and I really need some help. I was recently given a pair of Dynaudio Excite X14 speakers and I have bought a Palanar turntable and I need to buy an amplifier. I have been into 3 different Hi Fi stores and have been given 3 totally answers. I have read copious reviews and spent hours trawling through YouTube and I am now so confused, I have no idea of what to buy. I have been told that Dynaudio take a lot of grunt to get them working at their best. I have absolutely no idea of what that even means. If anyone out there has any (polite) suggestions, I would be eternally grateful.

• Like 1

Hi Julia,

Welcome to SNA!

Having a look at the stereophile review it looks like your speakers have below average sensitivity. That is for any given voltage provided by the amplifier they produce lower sound pressure levels compared to other similar sized speakers. 

How big an issue that is depends on how big your room is and how

loud you like to music.  Assuming you don’t have a huge room and only listen at moderately loud levels, an amp rated at 100 watts into 8 ohms is probably sufficient.  If it’s doubles or nearly doubles into a 4 ohm load, even better but it doesn’t look like your speakers present a particularly difficult load to the amp, so maybe this isn’t so important.

Ideally it’d be better if you could take your speakers into the hifi stores you’ve visiting and ask to listen to them with their recommended amps.  See which amp you like better.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Welcome to the group!

You'd probably do better if you re-posted your question in the "Beginners & Purchasing Advice" section. It will get far more views there, and with that will come a greater chance of getting an answer or two. 

• Thanks 1
18 hours ago, Buzzing said: