Height or Ear level Surround and Surround Back Speakers

Hi all my first post.

I have been playing at home theatre for almost 15 years now but never with the house or funds to be serious with the hobby. As it turns out as you get older you get higher paying jobs but with higher bills to fund lifestyles so excess funds still seem to be scarce.

Funds are still a little tight caused mainly by the inhouse bank manager, but finally have a home with a dedicated space 4.9m W x 4.8m L. Living in WA the room is on the 1st floor. The room construction is concrete slab floor with carpet, the 2 outer walls double brick and the other 2 single brick so I'm limited on how much I can chase speaker cable around.

So to my point I have decided to go the 7.2.4 route and have so far picked up the KEF Q950's and a KEF C650 for the front sound stage, currently running my old Monitors BRFX's and BR5's as surrounds and surround backs. I'm toying with the idea to minimise cable chasing in the walls to mount KEF Q50a's as surrounds and surround backs towards the top of the wall as close to the ceiling as possible firing down with minimal exposed wiring, my original intent was to run with 4 x Q350's on stands but dreading having to chase the cables around in the walls.

Will using the KEF Q50a's in that position detract/get muddled with the atmos effects coming from the inceiling speakers that will be installed in the not too distant future, or would it be better to just suck it up make some mess and use the Q350's on the stands minimising the compromise. The other thought that I had was to run the cables close to the walls under the carpet, but I think 4 pairs of 12 gauge speaker cable may be a little noticeable under the carpet.

Any help in this area would be appreciated, cheers guys.