Sign in to follow this  
HiFi-Newbie

Emotiva - UMC-1

Hi all

Well I have gone and joined the family and have purchased the XPA-5 and the UMC-1, just waiting on them to arrive so I can play. I am quite new to separates so may have some questions with setup (especially speakers) once it arrives.

I do have two questions

1) is there any special requirements for the power cord that I need to purchase and if so where from where in good old Adelaide.

2) I may be blind, but how do you connect a set of headphones to the UMC-1, I couldn't see any head phone connection on any of the diagrams and they are important to me.

Thanks for any input

You will a standard computer cord for the power. Dick smiths, BigW, Electronics store etc. IEC Mains Lead

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=PS4106&keywords=IEC+Mains+Lead&form=KEYWORD

How good are your headphones?

You might want to look at a headphone amp to use with the UMC-1.

Something like these I think.

http://headphones.com.au/pbrowse?catID=2

Can get all sorts from ebay as well.

Edited by rocky500

Also consider an Audio-gd NFB-12 as it would give a reasonably good alternative for a headphone amp and DAC for a little over $200....

[ATTACH=CONFIG]34247[/ATTACH]

JJ

Is there ever a special need regarding a power cord? I doubt it ...

Perhaps you could share your experiences of the Emotiva units after you've had a chance to spend some time with them. A lot of people are interested in them, the price is very appealing.

They do not supply an Australian Power cord. So to use it you just need to pick up any power cord to suit a computer.

hi HiFi-Newbie and welcome.

how much did the postage cost to Adelaide?

They do not supply an Australian Power cord. So to use it you just need to pick up any power cord to suit a computer.

Ahhhhh I get it now .... doh!

hi HiFi-Newbie and welcome.

how much did the postage cost to Adelaide?

Hi SamC53,