Gday Stereonet supporters and caregivers!,

Im not new to hifi audio... but I am very new to modern analogue vinyl bits and pieces.

I recently got back into vinyl...And loving it! with a Rega Planar 2 (with a Rega bias2 cart) connected straight to the phono input of my Yamaha RXV-2067. These are connected to a set of Cerwin-Vega E-710 speakers that are 3 way with a 10" woofer. I also have a VAF centre and Sub and Wharfdale rears... but those dont come into this question as this is about 2 channels only.

My question relates simply to phono preamps... and then to speakers... but mostly about preamps. Its very difficult to choose one or another based simply on online reviews. Im naturally biased towards a tube based unit like the Project Tube Box S2. But Im not a fella with tons of money and wonder if something like the Rega Fono mini A2D might do the job.... And I mean by "doing the job" as to making a significant improvement over the inbuilt phono on the Yamaha receiver im currently using. Is it worth my while even considering an outboard preamp? To me my current setup is pretty nice...  but sometimes has an unpleasant mid bass boom... quite possibly due to my rear ported speakers which by necessity are quite near to the front wall. Im also currently looking at upgrading my speakers to something front firing or even totally sealed to potentially eliminate the boom. But thats another discussion. Or is it?! Perhaps I should look at speakers before a preamp? Or perhaps a preamp could help first as a cheaper option? I love having a decent low end as im a metal and early hiphop head... as well as loving multiple other styles... Classical excluded. If anyone has ideas about speakers in the $2000-2500 range id be happy to hear opinions too.... Im currently looking at the VAF DC7 mk3's but im not sure they will have the bass im after... they probably will and im definately a VAF fan but any other thoughts or input would definitely be considered and appreciated.