How to add some zest to a pleasant system

I'm currently running an Arcam A28 into PMC DB1i's, routing my sources (NAD C516 BEE and Bluesound Node 2) through an Arcam irDac ii. I also have a Schiit Loki that I have fun with. On the whole the sound is clear and detailed and 'nice' - perfect for long listening sessions - but lacks that edge of your seat 'oomph'.  I do like it but sometimes want a bit more. 

I guess what I'm wondering is what route would give add a bit more spirit to my system without radical restructuring? I've tried moving the speakers all over the place and am a bit skeptical about spending what I do have on cables, interconnects etc.. 

Reading round all the articles/reviews etc. on the various bits of my system I suspect the A28 is possibly  the culprit and the best candidate for 'alteration'.  One route I've pondered is adding a power amp to the mix and either using the irDac or the A28 as a pre-amp. But, given I'm a relative beginner at this stuff, I could be totally going in the wrong direction, not understanding  stuff, and talking gibberish to myself. I do, however, feel that adding something to the system rather than replacing bits of it might help. And also not cost an arm and a leg. Or maybe not.

Dunno. Any ideas or advice?

• Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

How's rock sound when you crank it a bit? Pretty much any limitation in my system goes away with a little added volume.... Heck the main limitation I have is how loud my wife lets me play 

In my experience the awfulness of low Dynamic Range is revealed the more you improve your system. While I agree with Satanica, ultimately the source material can let you down.   Like you luap

One thing to consider is - what you are really trying to add?  Is it:   Visceral chest-gasping bass? Stunningly clear detail and transparency? Instrument and vocal 'presence'?

Posted Images