Connecting a Turntable to a Bose System

I have an older friend who has a variety of eras of hi-fi gear. The most recent is a bose system comprising the dvd/cd player control unit, a sub and two satellites.

I have succesfully got her ipod hooked into this sytem for her, via a version of a 3.5mm to stereo RCA cable - a $9 investment.

She has an old Technics 1300 turntable that is just sitting there. I assume she needs a phon pre-amp to boost the signal before going into another pair of auxilliary RCA connections in the bose unit. Is this right? If so, what is the cheapest way to do this? We are not talking about hi-end systems here. Perhaps it is a behringer pre-amp for around $35-$40. Perhaps that isn't a good choice

I am a complete noob on this, although my knowledge is significantly higher than my friends. I am hoping for a simple, effective and inexpensive solution.

Thanks.

Benje

Unless the BOSE system has an input labelled "phono", then yes, you have the idea.

Probably not likely that the Technics has an MC cartridge fitted, but it would be a good idea to check before selecting a Phono pre.

Likely the stylus/cartridge will need replacement, even if the stylus is not worn out, the suspension (of the cantilever) may well have perished due to age.

Replacement stylii are still available for many of the generic/OEM branded MM cartridges that were fitted to such decks.

I have done this very process in the past. Used a cheap batt operated phono stage from Jaycar $30ish. The Bose system may have the ability to boost the incoming analogue signal also. Scroll through the menus in system setup, there are usually a lot of options there.

Rural Rat !! You have Bose !!????

I'll tell the Trixie Owners club - I suspect your Trumpy membership has just been revoked.....

I'll tell the Trixie Owners club - I suspect your Trumpy membership has just been revoked.....