85"TV or stick waiting for 4k Projector

Hey guys, I have a FHD projector (100-110") screen and a 65:" FHD TV behind the screen but i hardly watch the 65" these days as 100 is way bigger :). I have been waiting to move to 4k and waiting for the right projectors to come on the second hand market at a price i can afford (I have been using JVC projectors for the past 10 years or so..so still tempted to stick with them as i found some of the other cheaper brand names a step down in the picture that i was used to) and recently got a 4k oled in the bedroom and was surprised the jump in picture quality on 4k and now am even feeling the urge to move my main system to 4k and was thinking of the Sony 85" 4K tvs out. I am just not sure if i should just wait for a semi fake JVC 4k Pixel shift to come up on the forums and make do with that sort of 4k till native 4k Projectors become affordable or just move to the sony 85" 4k till i can get a native JVC 4k projector. 

• Like 1
  • Moderators

the e-shift projectors are pretty good in picture quality will get you something in order of 3k or so... which is pretty decent... its not semi fake or anything ... there is indeed a step up in resolution capability and also gains from wider colour gamut and HDR 

I'd go the projector ....

especially if you say the 100" is way bigger ... well the 85 is gooing then to be way smaller ! :D 15-25" up to projector screen is huge ! 

also anything of quality in a telly of 85" is going to be ridiculous;y expensive am not talking the any number of budget telly's around ...go big in size and all the faults all the more noticeable ! :D 

if used to jvc and been happy with the older ones ... consider the e-shift from last gen. i think would be very happy :)  

• Like 3
Posted (edited)

The Sony i was looking at is pretty good for picture quality i believe. ITs contrast is meant to be alot better than the standard LED TVs. 

Sony 85" X85G LED 4K HDR Smart TV (KD85X8500G)