I have $4500 that I need to spend on a sub.

My current system is LS50W's. That's it :)

Requirements, there can only be 1 sub (any size should fit).

I could not get wife approval for 2. Dang!

Use case will be for music & HT.

Room size is 8m x 5.3m

Considerations, I live in a Duet, so a neighbour is right next door, so won't have the sub on full blast ever. So we need to limit SPL a bit.

I'm pretty new in the AV world, so am asking a bit of guidance please.

Healthy budget but If you double it you can have my Wilson Audio  Watchdog 2 sub with controller and Audio Research monoblock amp. 😝

Edited by Yamaha_man
  • Like 1

REL t7i is very popular pairing to the LS50W.

Your budget allows you to get two.

Which is always recommended as your room is actually quiet large.

Single sub will not be enough, and also will likely have mode issues.

Based on your room dimension the standing wave will be at the 50hz, which will be quiet obvious to your ears.

But if you must go single.

SVS-3000 is always a popular choice.

Made very well, and sealed design is best if you want both music and theatre.

• Like 1

Second hand JL Audio f112 / f113 would be a really good option.

If it is more Music than theatre a Brand new a Rel S812 or JL Audio e112 would be good options. They would also do Cinema quite well.

If the  priority is cinema over music I would go with the SVS sb16.

• Like 1

I’ve tried quite a few different subs with the LS50W in different rooms.

From my experience, assuming you use your LS50W for music I would suggest go with REL.  

$4500 is a very healthy budget, and you could easily pick up the incredible S/812.  If you don’t want to spend your whole budget, then the T/9i can be had for circa $2k and is an awesome sub for the money.

• Like 1

Can only be 1 sub within that budget? Can't be 2 smaller subs within the same budget?

If its two then 2x SVS SB-2000 Pro, because of the inbuilt DSP.