do I need an amp? Beginner question

Hi guys, 
I'm looking for some advices. I've got an Audio-Technica LP120X. It is connected to the speakers which means I'm using the preamp built-in. 
Now I wanna go one step further and improve the sound quality. I'm looking for an affordable preamp and think Cambridge Audio CP1 is a good start. 
My question is about the amplifier. Do I need it? I have Edifier R1000T4 speakers. So I'm not sure if an amplifier is really needed when active speakers are used. 
So basically I want this -> turntable -> preamp -> (active) speakers . No amplifier in the middle. 

I'm not too familiar with this kind of thinks, i'm a beginner.

Thanks all!

Your Turntable has a phono / line switch, on the rear of the TT,  so if you turn it to "phono" and used a phono preamp, you would not need a Amplifier with your active speakers.

From your manual

3. Pre-amplifier selector switch If using an amplifier with a PHONO input jack, set this switch to the PHONO position. If connecting to the AUX jack of an amplifier, set this switch to the LINE position.

You don't need an amp with those speakers they have one built in.
Until you want more power then you will want an amp and bigger speakers

8 hours ago, josedimarco said:

Hi guys, 
I'm looking for some advices. I've got an Audio-Technica LP120X. It is connected to the speakers which means I'm using the preamp built-in. 
Now I wanna go one step further and improve the sound quality. I'm looking for an affordable preamp and think Cambridge Audio CP1 is a good start. 
My question is about the amplifier. Do I need it? I have Edifier R1000T4 speakers. So I'm not sure if an amplifier is really needed when active speakers are used. 
So basically I want this -> turntable -> preamp -> (active) speakers . No amplifier in the middle. 

I'm not too familiar with this kind of thinks, i'm a beginner.

Thanks all!

Amplifier is built into the speakers. You already have it.

Hi,