stil_nox

Yamaha NS-670 or JBL 4412A ?

Hi, I'm new to hi-fi and working on my first setup. 

I have a pro-ject recordmaster turntable and a sonos amp (because i want that flexibility), but i am moving towards older speakers. Yet to decide on a sub setup.

I'm choosing between the Yam 670s or the JBL 4412A's.

Keen to get thoughts from someone who knows a bit more than me!

Thx

DS

99% wil say JBL and i would agree but never heard them in person.  The yamaha 670 are a very underrated speaker though.  I would also expect the JBL to be 2-3x the price.

Guest jakeyb77
12 minutes ago, stil_nox said:

Hi, I'm new to hi-fi and working on my first setup. 

I have a pro-ject recordmaster turntable and a sonos amp (because i want that flexibility), but i am moving towards older speakers. Yet to decide on a sub setup.

I'm choosing between the Yam 670s or the JBL 4412A's.

Keen to get thoughts from someone who knows a bit more than me!

Thx

DS

Ha! Nice user name. 
They both have very good merit. 
I have a soft spot for both but I like the 4412. These speakers impressed me more than I thought they had any right to. Can you listen to them both? 
There is some 4412 for sale on Gumtree but they look pretty beat up. 
In any case, if you buy smart you can sell for the same price. It’s like trying for free 

Guest jakeyb77

In both cases make sure all the drivers are working as repair/replacement gets hard on obsolete items. 

Unsure how expensive the 670's are but $1000 is what I would consider a premium price for the 4412A's. For $1000 they would want to be absolutely mint. The vinyl cabinets of the 4412A don't handle knocks and bumps all that well. They are also littered with electrolytics while the older veneer 4412 had poly caps.