Hi all

I'm new to the audio world and with our current "package" sub failing and me in need of a project I wanted to have a go at building one. 

I was considering the Dayton 12 inch Ulrimax driver and am hoping to find some basic sealed and ported designs I might be able to just copy. I'm no expert and the thought of "tuning" a box is a bit daunting. 

Similarly what amp would people reccomend? I was looking at something like the NX3000. 

9 hours ago, Craggs2341 said:

I was considering the Dayton 12 inch Ulrimax driver and am hoping to find some basic sealed and ported designs I might be able to just copy. I'm no expert and the thought of "tuning" a box is a bit daunting. 

From the parts-express website....

Cabinet recommendations:
• Sealed 2.0 cubic ft. (net internal) with 1 lbs. of Acousta-Stuf polyfill, f3 of 36 Hz with a 0.707 Qtc alignment
• Vented 4.0 cubic ft. (net internal, not including driver or port volume) tuned to 20 Hz with a 10" wide by 1.5" high slot port that is 25" long, which yields an f3 of 19 Hz

9 hours ago, Craggs2341 said:

Similarly what amp would people reccomend? I was looking at something like the NX3000. 

Yes, that will work well.

You might consider the "D" version (with DSP), which will let you program highpass / lowpass filters and other EQ into the amplifier.

Unless you want to play very very loud .... then my recommendation would be to build this cabinet.

https://www.parts-express.com/denovo-audio-knock-down-mdf-20-cu-ft-subwoofer-cabinet-for-dayton-audio-12-ultimax-subwoo--300-7081

... and then EQ the subwoofer to be flat in your room.

You'll notice it says somewhere that the woofer (begins to) rolls off at 36Hz.....  you room will lift this up (more bass extension in room) .... and you can lift the bass further with EQ .... at the expense of reducing the overall maximum SPL (which most people don't need/want).