Peterepeat

JENSEN SPX19 SUBWOOFER HELP!:)

Bought one of these dual Jensen subs years ago and recently brought it out and hooked it up and it’s only making a humming sound, it could be dust or the fried plate amp..I’m not electronically minded so I’m not quite sure what to do with it, take out the plate amp and take it to an electronics repair shop?$$$ or would it be cheaper to buy another plate amp and learn how to install it myself. It was an amazing sub and I never really had it up loud at all so I’m sure it’s not the woofers themselves. Any help would be greatly appreciated 👍

Any help? I’m a noob to electronics 

20 minutes ago, Peterepeat said:

Any help? I’m a noob to electronics 

I'm no expert but will try and help.

So it makes the hum just by connecting it to power with no other connections?

Given the potential value of the unit I probably wouldn't bother with getting it repaired because it will cost more than its worth.

But you could look at getting another plate amp and connect it, I've done that and its an easy positive and negative connection so worthwhile if you can find one that fits.

That said, if you love the Jensen maybe just look for another one, looks like they go for a couple of hundred dollars second hand.

Posted (edited)

If you have hum, it is worth trying to identify if you have a ground loop somewhere in the house.

Edit - Sorry, only just read that it is ONLY humming

Edited by thathifiguy

I know this sounds like a silly thing, but I would turn the unit OFF and cycle the volume control from 0 to 100% and then 100% to 0% gain, and repeat a number of times (maybe for 30 seconds or so)

I had this issue with a subwoofer in the past and there was dust in the gain potentiometer. Moving it back and forth moved any carbon that had built up that was causing a short (in this case was causing a buzzing/humming sound).