Now that hard drive storage is dirt cheap, I'm converting...

I've been putting off going "further digital" for many years now since I quite like the act of spinning silver discs.  However, as I said in the title since hard drive space is now so cheap I decided to give it a try so I bought a little 4 Terabite usb hard drive and started ripping.  I have little to no interest in streaming services like Tidal or Spotify so I was really only interested in ripping the wav files from the cds and storing them on my little yellow hard drive.

IMG_1189.thumb.JPG.990cd0c4a58bb482df9990cb18d27aaa.JPG

I must admit I was a bit surprised to find out just how much space I had left once I was done with my 4 nights and 3 days of near-constant ripping.  I have about 450 cds (not a big collection I know) and I found that I could fit them all on to the 4 terabite hard drive with more than 3.5 Terabites worth of space left over.   Ah technology, how you've improved.

So all of these,

IMG_1183.thumb.JPG.4a5ff4fef717334cfa18e75a00a37c83.JPG

Plus another 90 or so that were still sitting in the 'to be ripped' pile at the time of picture taking, fit on the little yellow block of plastic in the first pic.  And a whole lot more besides.

Nice!  Efficient!  Lazy! 

I like all of these things.

Actually I wasn't completely honest above, a big part of the reason I started this line of action was my owning of an Oppo 205, which is more than happy reading any usb sticks and hard drives plugged into it.  So now I can just plug my little yellow hard drive in to the Oppo and leave it there.  Quick, easy (and more importantly lazy) access to all my albums without moving from the comfort of my chair.  I should have known this hobby would get worse for me with time. 

Oh well, it was bound to happen eventually.

Here's to getting fatter quicker while listening to music.

• Like 7
  • Haha 1
  • Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts