Sign in to follow this  
karthik

Speaker recommendations

Hi there, 

I am a newbie and am looking to set up a stereo system. I listen to prog rock, jazz and Indian classical (mostly vocals). I was thinking of going for a tube amp like the boyuu a10 or similar. I would prefer to buy a pair of floorstanders but I am not sure if the amp will be able to drive it. Can anyone please suggest a suitable pair of speakers for me. I don't mind buying used as long as they are good. 

What is your budget?

There are several very reputable and helpful audio dealers in Melbourne and I think you should identify a budget estimate, allow for some flexibility and visit at least some of them ( CAV, Tivoli Hifi  Hey Now and Audio trends ) come to mind.

When you choose equipment it should be based on actual experience via an audition with your own music.

Avoid trying to cherry pick gear you have not heard and which has no back up or reputation.

Don't fall into the trap of going by a particular topography either ( i.e. tubes or SS ) and take most ,if not all reviews, with a good dose of scepticism . The amplifier you referred to is really just another run-of-the-mill Chinese mass made amplifier and since you have no way of determining its quality or sound, I would give it a wide berth.

When you are auditioning ,give the sales person a rough idea of your budget, your musical tastes ,your room size and layout and what you would like to achieve and they will advise and work with you to get a result with which you are happy.

Also, keep a close eye on the classified listings on here, it is a huge buyer's market and there is some fantastic gear going for cheap.

Good luck with it all and don't worry or over analyse, just go with your instinct and have fun!

Edited by rantan

49 minutes ago, rantan said:

Don't fall into the trap of going by a particular topography either ( i.e. tubes or SS )

Completely agree.