Sign in to follow this  
DdDesign

Recommendation for Budget open back headphones ?

I’m looking to try openback headphones for the first time and want a shortlist to go and audition. My budget is up to $250 and I’m looking to wear them while I work (draft/design) at my computer. I have tried closes back headphones but don’t like the isolation from the environment. I thought open back will give we an immersive musical experience without feeling isolated.

Comfort is important and I would like a pretty lively and spacious sound. 

I would love any recommendations from those with experience to include on my list and thoughts about the following:

Grando SR80e ( not sure they will be comfy?)

Audio Technica AD700.

Akg 240

Seinheiser 58x ( on sale at addicted to audio)

Thanks 

I am a CAD designer too, and I have switched to apple airpods, mainly for the convenience of being able to pause music if someone wants to talk to me (by taking one out) and the other 'tap' controls.

The comfiest headphones I ever had for all day use were Sennheiser PX100s. I am not sure if they are still available or not. The Grados arent even comfortable for 10 minutes, s I don't think they would be suitable. The others will be fairly heavy for extended use.

If the Senny 58x fit anything like the 599, you would be hard pressed finding anything more comfortable.

AKG K7XX have a wide soundstage so maybe they will sound spacious to you?

HD58X is a great option.

Also, on a budget the Koss Portapro with Yaxi Pads is really comfortable and punches above its price range, they don't really require an amp which helps if you're on a budget, although they do scale with an amp.

I absolutely love the HD6XX if you can stretch your budget to about $330

MS1s are great out of an old iphone

http://alessandro-products.com/headphones-2/

I've worn them for a couple of hours at a time whilst cooking.

Good for moving around.