realysm42

Good quality Australian mains plug

I've got a good quality power lead that I'd like to recycle, to do so I need to remove the Schuko plug that's attached and fit an Australian plug.

I don't want to spend millions on one (so the blingy Furutechs are out), can you guys please point me to reasonable alternatives that are better than cheapo generic junk? I'm happy to spend ~$60 maximum on it.

Also, is it safe to rewire a plug that had two wires (Schuko) to Australian (three). As you can tell I'm a noob with this so don't know much about it and want to remain safe first and foremost.

Thanks for your help in advance.

3 minutes ago, realysm42 said:

is it safe to rewire

a noob

No

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, davewantsmoore said:

No

Thanks for letting me know; I’ll leave it there.

Unless you’re letting me know it isn’t safe to rewire a noob 😛

Edited by realysm42

1 hour ago, realysm42 said:

I've got a good quality power lead that I'd like to recycle, to do so I need to remove the Schuko plug that's attached and fit an Australian plug.

I don't want to spend millions on one (so the blingy Furutechs are out), can you guys please point me to reasonable alternatives that are better than cheapo generic junk? I'm happy to spend ~$60 maximum on it.

You won't have to pay that much - your standard HPM plug like a 106/1WE (or 106/2WE if the cable is thick) will be just fine.

However, I need to point out you are legally required to have a licenced electrician do the plug swap.

Also, is it safe to rewire a plug that had two wires (Schuko) to Australian (three). As you can tell I'm a noob with this so don't know much about it and want to remain safe first and foremost.

Not quite sure what you're meaning here, r42?

Are you saying your, so called, "quality" power lead only has 2 wires.  In which case, connecting this wire to a 3-pin Aussie plug is not legal - as it means the component which uses it will not have a mains-earthed case.

Andy