Sign in to follow this  
astormsau

Rega RP8 - whats next?

Hi everyone

I have been running a Rega RP8 for about five years now. I use it in its skeletal form with an Ortofon 2M Black (this is my second 2M black) and a Blue Horizon turntable mat. I recently purchased a Rega NEO PSU for it which has been great for getting speed to be spot on. It runs through a Graham Slee Accession.

I listen to a broad variety of music on record and a lot of my music is rock/pop from the 60's through to the 80s'. Most of my albums are very clean (I use a Project RCM with Melody Mate fluid to clean everything). I use my digital front end for listening to most new stuff mastered in the digital domain.

I have recently been infected with a case of upgrade-it is to move up the chain from the RP8 especially after seeing some of the more esoteric decks at the Hifi show over the weekend.

Several decks which have interested me are the Michell Gyrodec SE for its great looks, isolation and seemingly robust build. The Mofi Ultradeck with the 10" arm and also the Linn LP12. I have experience with suspended tables as I also own and have repaired and serviced a few B&O tables and still own a Beogram 4002. (although it is consigned to its box right now because it just doesn't perform as well as an RP8) 

I was wanting to get some opinions on a few things, is the Michell or a basic LP12 an upgrade from an RP8 in terms of sonic performance?

Some people rave about the RP8 and claim it out performs much higher $$ decks. I checked out the Mofi the other day at a dealer and think it may be more of a sideways step in performance. I kind of like the idea of the Michell or the Linn as they give a bit of scope for tinkering... something I've never felt inclined to do with the RP8 aside from swapping out the TTPSU but do enjoy doing nevertheless with other gear.

Should there be other tables I consider in my search which people could recommend?

All help and thoughts welcome!

Drew