Sign in to follow this  
DANIEL_D

Turntables choices AT-Lp5 or lpw40wn

Hey guys,

Im pretty new to turntables. Looking at getting my first one and currently deciding between the AT-LP5 and LPW40WN (around $500-$800)

Not sure if should I go with the direct-drive or the belt drive, or if there is even any difference in this price range.

Any thoughts on those please?

Welcome Daniel......to Stereonet!

I'm no expert and others here may have more knowledgeable opinions to share but based on the fact that I can find many glowing reviews on the LP5 and no reviews at all for the LPW40WN, I would say the LP5 is the way to go. Judging by said reviews you may be very happy with the LP5 which seems to be a great 'bang for buck' TT. This is not to say the other one is not going to make you happy either but the LP5 definitely impresses the reviewers in the articles I've seen so far.

WhatHiFi sums up their LP5 review with:

For

• Loads of detail
  • Spacious soundstage
  • Expressive rhythmically and dynamically
  • Great to use
  • Feature list

Against

• Nothing at this price

Impressive.....

Hopefully some others with more experience of these decks will offer a bit more of an accurate comparison/opinion.....

Good luck.👍

Edited by stevoz

For the money a second hand purchase will get you a lot better TT and being your first if you do enjoy you will be tempted to upgrade, you will loose less on the second hand purchase, a few weeks ago in the classifieds you would have been spoiled for choice 

37 minutes ago, Powerglide said:

For the money a second hand purchase will get you a lot better TT and being your first if you do enjoy you will be tempted to upgrade, you will loose less on the second hand purchase, a few weeks ago in the classifieds you would have been spoiled for choice