Sign in to follow this  
Galactic Soap

Small Room - Paradigm Sub 1/Persona Sub

Hi Everyone,

Need some help. As some of you know I'm currently running a pair of TAD CR-1 stand-mounts in a quasi near field setup. The speakers are 1.5 meters away from me. That's about as far as I can get them while also giving them enough space from the rear and side walls. The room itself is very small - 3.5M x 3.5M. 

The TAD's frequency response goes down to 40hz. I thought that given the size of the room and the CR-1's almost full-range capabilities I wouldn't need a sub. I've been running the CR-1's in this configuration for the last 2 months and have been very happy. 

Earlier this week I inserted a 10 inch Anthony Gallo TR-3 subwoofer into the system to see what difference it made. The crossover was set to 40Hz and the volume level to halfway. It was an immediate improvement. Sound-stage improved as did my sense of enjoyment.

As a result I'm on the hunt for a subwoofer solution. I've been informed of a good deal on a Paradigm Persona Sub. It retails for a little over $9K. I'm thinking of deploying it alongside a DEQX PreMate Plus which I'm yet to install in my system to help with system integration. I've decided on the Persona Sub (effectively a rebadged Sub 1) due to its multiple smaller driver array which I feel (based on my limited understanding of bass in small rooms) would incorporate better with my system and room. The other contenders are the usual suspects:

- SVS 13 Ultra

- Fathom F113

- 2 x JL E112's 

Given the above could I ask you to call out any issues in my thinking, specifically:

- Will the Paradigm Sub 1 solution be appropriate given my room and system?

- Is there a better solution I should consider

Thanks

GS

At this very high level I would go with 2 the same subwoofers.