Sign in to follow this  
Alpine Electrocats

First Pressings

I have been buying vinyl for about 50 years (and selling off stuff for only about 20 years). Only in the lastfew years did I become aware of first pressings, I discovered at the weekend that on of my promo LPs is a first pressing, so wondering if its going to (help) pay off my visa debt:)

https://www.discogs.com/buy/CD/Georgia-Satellites-Georgia-Satellites/962088666

I thought first pressings were vinyl only -  I've learnt something today..

First pressings of vinyl records (including promos) are considered desirable because the stampers are new and not worn.

First pressings/masterings of CDs are collectable by some because often the original mastering has retained the dynamic range of the original recordings.  Latter mastering often compresses the dynamic range, which is less desirable to audiophiles. 

However, it is not always straightforward.  Many early CDs were mastered from multi-generation tapes (or tapes with eq for record cutting), which have reduced audio quality (even though the dynamic range may be preserved on the CD).  Latter CDs may have been generated from lower-generation tapes, but are degraded by mastering fashion. 

The value depends on many things, and collector demand.  Early CD pressings with the so-called "target" design are very collectable, as the quality is considered to be excellent. 

1 hour ago, audiofeline said:

First pressings of vinyl records (including promos) are considered desirable because the stampers are new and not worn.

and also because of the mastering...

There is a belief that the original mastering has a higher value, in some cases, for vinyl issues.

As mastering changes from country to country press, and from release to release sometimes within the same title (ie. later versions have different mastering engineers), then 1st vinyl presses have a perhaps perceived value that the 'original' mastering should be the best.