Is it really worth buying high end speakers costing thousands??

Hey there all.

We all understand that speaker technology has not changed much since they were introduced in the 1920's etc.

Though I understand some better materials have been introduced to provide better use such as move from paper cone to poly/ Kevlar cones, all the way from soft dome tweeters to titanium tweeters to a more elaborate crossover systems that commence from 6db to 24db crossovers in a 2/3 way systems.

To add to the cost, the introduction of enclosures, from simple box design to more elaborate curved wood, that is sanded, polished and given a great cover and added feet to reduce vibrations and enhance room acoustics.  The use of exotic materials again like cast frames also adds to the cost.

I just cannot comprehend why some speakers can cost over $10K and some cost just a few grand.  I have been delving into home / car audio for the past 30 years so I have had my fair share of exposure to purchase, testing and installing speakers in the worst enclosure,  a vehicle where added sound deadening / box building, adequate wire size is crucial to the environment.  In a home environment, it easy to place speakers towards the listener and even a modest bookshelf speakers would sound decent enough given a clean (undistorted)  power. 

Having both, American, and European brands of home and car speakers, I have found European speakers to be more focused on jazz, blues, classical, and  vocal tones whereas US brands were more focused on Rock / rap / electro style music. 

Still does not justify why some brand of speakers cost so much even today.  I understand some reputable companies have continued research and development team so they are constantly changing their products and following current world trends through marketing and research.

Any advice would be appreciated on this topic.

Cheers!

Rob

• Like 1