Sign in to follow this  
OLLY

Garrard 301 v's Commonwealth Electronics 12D/3

I have been using the CE turntable since 2000 and I am pondering a full service on my 301 but before I do has anybody done a proper comparison on the two tables and if so which do you think is the better turntable. I have listened to both but it was an unfair comparison as the 301 is in an inferior plinth. Need to know if it's worth spending close to a grand on the 301 and then put it away again as I have for the last 20 years.

I must admit the looks of the 301 is sort of hard to beat and I would love to have it on display just for that reason.

I much preferred the Commonwealth but it was not in controlled settings. The plinth was different on each of the two turntables and neither had been serviced so i can't say they were both running perfectly.

But when comparing my Gerrard 301 and 401 the Commonwealth was much better. (My Commonwealth was a 12 inch.  The 16 may have been better again).

The Lenco was almost as good and with mods (very easy to mod these) was probably much better again.

The Technics sp10 i had was more neutral without the idler wheel thrust to the music.

In saying that they are both fantastic turntables.  The plinth made a big difference to the sound of the idlers (less so the Technics which had maybe a 40-50 kg plinth i had made at the time).

LPG

If both tables were in prime condition,   I would say the simple massive design of the Commonwealth makes it the better table.  If you need to ever repair one, the Garrard will be much easier to find spares for.  That said, you will probably never need to repair something as well designed as the Commonwealth.