NAD 3045D + B&W 606 - placement and jitter

Hi, these are total beginner questions so if it's been well answered before please point me in the right direction.

OK so I just came from listening on cheap headphones and portable bluetooth speakers to a NAD 3045D + B&W 606's (on stands).

I am listening either to my library ripped over the years from CD's using JRiver, or Deezer HiFi streaming or Tidal HiFi/MQA streaming (trialling because Deezer has some bad problems).  Have tried both USB and optical connections from computer to NAD 3045D, and also optical connection to Chromecast Audio.  It looks like USB lets me enjoy higher quality options (although I'm not sure I can hear it) and is generally more reliable, so I'm going to use that by preference.

Questions:

Jitter - is it worth spending a few hundred dollars on the various devices that are available for USB connection?  My system sounds so much better than anything I had before that I don't recognise any problem at all.  Since it was not a super expensive system I don't want to waste money just to find out.  On the other hand I don't mind spending that sort of amount to make it even better.

Speaker placement - how can I learn a little more without having to keep moving speakers and furniture around?  Especially these questions - does it really matter whether the speakers are at normal listening height, or do they just need to be angled so they are aimed at the listener? what if there is no normal listening position, because of the way the room is used?  When I have the volume up it feels more like listening to the room than listening to the speakers, and it doesn't matter where I am in the room.  Am I imagining that?

Thanks for helping me start this journey.

Hi, the tweeter should be roughly at the same height as your ears when sitting in the sweet spot. Speakers 0.3-1m of the back wall.