Sign in to follow this  
Dv p

Is Denon avr-x1500h good choice for Monitor Audio Brone/Silver bookshelves

I’m new to Stereophile scene. I auditioned MA Bronze 2 and like it. Denon x1500h was suggested with speakers. 

If I can find second hand MA silver 100s at price slightly higher then new Bronze 2s, I would get them

Sugestions welcome. 

What is your budget? And what is your mix between music and movies?

9 minutes ago, Dv p said:

@Snoopy8 My budget is ~$2k. Music 60%, Movies 40%. Thanks

Sorry, a few more questions.  Is that the budget for everything, including AVR, speakers (how many?) and sub ?   What are you using as sources for music and movies?  Want Atmos for movies?  What is size of room and is it dedicated or shared?   The more information you can provide on your requirements, the better...

@Snoopy8 It's budget for bookshelves pair and AVR. Sub would be added later with extra budget of ~1k (svs sb-1000). For now music would be streaming from Spotify very high bitrate. I would buy CD/blu-ray player later when budget allows. No atmos for now but might add it later. It all depends on monies available :P

But this system build is primarily focused on music. Though it should be able to do movies. Is that fair ask?

Room is approx 5x4 meters. Opening on one side to kitchen/dining. It's a shared room. 

As I said, I am new to the scene and open to suggestions. It should not be crazy costly though. My research currently seems to be going down the rabbit hole with million things to consider. 

17 minutes ago, Dv p said:

But this system build is primarily focused on music. Though it should be able to do movies. Is that fair ask?

That is the big challenge!  AVRs are focused on movies rather than music. Given you are yet to get a sub and am focused on music, I would suggest getting an integrated amp with HT bypass, maybe from the classifieds.  Then add a used AVR with pre-outs and a sub for movies when funds permit.