Sign in to follow this  
Matyk

Audio research ls27 tube upgrade

Calling all audio research pro's!!!

Hi guys i have the  ls27 arc pre and now looking into replacing the best tubes i can find

My question is what tubes are the best?

Reflector 6h30p maybe?

Also if anyone has tried different ones what advantages do you gain

I'm a big believer in power cables and upgraded xlrs etc. So surely a better tube would be advantageous. 

I'm running stock ones. I'm only new to arc so any advise would really be appreciated

I'm also very aware that the ref 3 and 5 se are alot better than the 27. But I'm sticking with what i have.

Cheers in advance. 

Guest Muon N'

You are limited in the 6H30 tube, I personally like them but some do and some don't, curcuit and stystems can have a bearing on this.

There are only 5 types I know of.

Old Sovtek (maybe two versions EB and EV, EV might indicate longer life)

Premium, Sovtek 'DR' type (very expensive but is said to be the highest grade for military use)

New Sovtek both standard and DR I think (name now owned by American distribution company New Sensor, they hold the name of many brands now including Mullard and others)

Electro-harmonix

Some say they can hear a difference between the old sovteks standard and DR type, but some say they can't. I use the old Sovtek's Non DR in my non ARC amp, I don't feel compelled to try the other types, the old DR maybe but far too expensive for myself.

There is this page that is useful to tell some apart.

http://www.aca.gr/index/hiend/hiendArticles?row=1988

Edited by Muon N'