Equaliser

Hi everyone,

I would like to add some tone control to my simple set up.

I’m fairly new to the stereo game.

I’ve recently bought a couple of sets of speakers and there’s certain frequencies I would like to amplify or take down a tad. I’m familiar with a bss soundweb or a simple fysical equaliser but want to keep the signal as pure as I can while altering it and moving it through ‘the box’.

What device am I looking for?

Current set up is sonos box rca outs in to amp - very basic.

Planning to add a pre amp and DAC when the funds are available.

Cheers!

Look into a little box called a minidsp. I watched a few youtube videos on them and they seem cool. If you dont want to add any more digital gear then you can probably get tonnes of stereo eq's on ebay really cheap. I have used a few, pioneer, dbx and its strange that no one uses them anymore. I guess quality gear doesnt need it

On 11/09/2018 at 5:53 PM, kamielcat said:

I’ve recently bought a couple of sets of speakers and there’s certain frequencies I would like to amplify or take down a tad.

Go for it....   Equalisers don't necessarily lower the sound quality in general  (unless your equaliser is faulty of course) .....  but depending on the knobs on the EQ that you twiddle, you can make some profound changes to the sound which can make the sound bad.    For example, if you move a certain frequency band by 3dB, this is a lot.    Too much and you will distort the sound.    If you have a big problem which requires EQ to fix, it's usually better the try and fix the problem at the source.    On the other hand - If you just like it to "sound different", then Rock On!  ;) 

On 11/09/2018 at 5:53 PM, kamielcat said:

Current set up is sonos box rca outs in to amp - very basic.

May Sonos products have an EQ function build into them.    Have a look at your manual.

42 minutes ago, Zaphod Beeblebrox said:

Don't do it!