Sign in to follow this  
perth_artist

Akai gx-630d reel to reel query

Ive just been given a Akai gx-630d reel to reel player.  From the looks of it seems to be in top notch condition, but I am yet to have a listen.

Reel to reel is a little before my time so Im new to it, so have a few questions.

Where is the best place to buy albums on tape ?

What do people mainly use them for, copying albums etc....or should i say what is the best way to use them.

Cheers

Guest guru

Wherever you find them to buy, they will be right next to the Elcasset and the 8 track cartridges.

...Maybe Bryan, but R2R for playback is still the next best thing to the REAL thing!

I've heard some really good vinyl setups, but then when you hear a good Otari or Studer playing master tapes or 2nd generation from that copy of a copy tape at either 15ips or even better 30ips...

Game over!  They slaughter even the best vinyl.  The density in the soundstage is just something else.  The sound just fills the room.  And they have the added bonus of that mystical thing called "tape saturation"

What about tape hiss I hear you ask?  Forget it.  You are so far inside the music its existence is masked.

Getting tapes are really difficult too and the prices of master tapes now are pure crazy.

Not too sure your Akai will achieve such results, but have fun playing. 

I have a gx636 and I just record my best cds to it- You can buy new blank tape from cassette tape supplies over east' www.casstape.com.au .

The price for a empty metal reel is quite high at around $70 so I get them from fleabay for around $30 with shipping. I have had no luck with used tape so 

I get new pancakes from the place mentioned above, you then mount the tape onto the reel, yes you have to be a bit obsesed to go through this but there is something very special and alluring watching those reels spin! 

The hayday for r2r was the 50s and 60s so a lot of the prerecorded music is from then, newer stuff is very expensive.