Ittaku

Amateur OB speaker builder and his ARC based digital system

Posted (edited)

I've been making my own custom speakers on and off for over 20 years and recently got inspired to start all over again with an open baffle design and all the latest scanspeak drivers, and upgrade pretty much all of my components. Apart from the baffle itself being only temporary still, I'm extremely happy with the final result. I set out to create something that should be very natural sounding and be scalable to recreate large scale symphonic works and organs. Here is the executive summary of how it looks, before I introduce the family members:

7nNZjLE.jpg

As you can see, Dspeaker DAC feeding into a Supratek Preamp, then into Audio Research Power amps and an SVS subwoofer. The power amps feed via XLO cables into my custom open baffle speakers. Everything is sitting (standing?) on solidsteel racks. Things aren't spaced evenly to make up for inadequate interconnect lengths :P Before you ask, the round thing at the back left is a fan... it gets awfully hot in here in summer with all those valves even with the ducted aircon running so I need extra airflow. That particular Dyson fan has a very low speed setting which isn't too noisy which is why I chose it.

Music feeds predominantly from my Linux PC (not pictured) at the rear end of the same room, a good 5 metres away. Music is played via a personally hacked version of the Clementine media player (I'm a software engineer) that guarantees it plays native resolution without resampling. Then it plays via pulseaudio upscaling to either 178.6k or 192k 24 bit with the sox very high quality filter before playing on USB out.

USB is fed to a USB over ethernet device and an ordinary cat7 cable to the remote ethernet to USB receiver:

aCKJgN4.jpg

which is powered by a linear power supply:

2iRcKEn.jpg

This acts as a USB decrapifier, extender, and way to dissociate the PC's USB noise from the DAC.