Marantz pm6006 v Camebridge cxa 80

G'day people, apologies in advance if I'm posting this in the wrong place. I've never used an internet forum before so please be patient.

I'm looking at buying an integrated amp and the marantz pm 6006 caught my eye. After reading some reviews I became concerned about the need to be pretty computer savvy, which I am not, and the need to run an app on my phone to use the unit. For this reason I have also been reading about the camebridge cxa80 and I would appreciate peoples assessments of either and or both units.

Dumb question time.

I am a pre digital, pre internet human and I need to know if either or both of these units can be plugged into analogue turn tables such as the technics 1200? Do the units receive analogue radio signals or are they internet radio only? Do I need to understand bluetooth and device pairing to connect phones, computers etc to the units?

I ask this here because when I talk to sales assistants in shops all I get is a 14 foot long list of alternative products I could/should buy.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Edited by Lowtec fella
  • Like 1

Hi Lowtec and welcome to the forum :thumb:

I can’t help on the Marantz but I do own the Cambridge cxa80.

in my view, it is a stunner for the price and I have no regrets on the purchase.

To briefly answer your questions, integrated amps do not generally have a radio tuner. That is the domain of AVRs (audio visual receivers).

The cxa80 does not have a phono preamp for your turntable. You would need a separate phono preamp to connect to both your turntable and the cxa80.

There are no apps to manage but there is an optional Bluetooth dongle which will enable you to stream services such as Spotify, Tidal or Tunein for radio from your phone or tablet.

As far as computer connection go, if you have music files on your computer, you can attach it directly to the cxa80 via the USB port and press play on your computer.