Neddly

Do I just need a stylus or a cartridge as well for this Pioneer SPL-110?

Hi there. A mate found this turntable in the back of his workshop and I'd like to try and get it going. It doesn't have a stylus and I'm wondering if I can just add one or do I need to replace the cartridge as well.

I'm a noob at this but would like to have a crack if I can and would like to do it on a budget.

I've attached photos sorry if they're a tad unfocused, phone didn't want to play ball.

Cheers

IMG_20171107_190711.jpg

IMG_20171107_190650.jpg

IMG_20171107_183616.jpg

It may be possible to just get a new stylus ,if you can work out what the cartridge is. Someone here may recognise it or if you unscrew it it may have something written on the top of the cart.

But you can buy a new cart and stylus ,such as , the Ortfon om10 for about $50 so that may be a better way to go.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Ortofon-OM-10-Cartridge/152531517732?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649

$48 including post.

So what is the Turntable?

PN12 maybe.

Pretty sure thats it.

Take the headshell to a HiFI store in Melbourne.

Edited by Wimbo

1 hour ago, EV Cali said:

So what is the Turntable?

Crikey how did I forget to mention that ha ha!

It's a Pioneer SPL-110

Thanks for all the replies so far!

I recon @Wimbo has probably got it then as that is what the Pioneer SPL-110 was originally fitted with.

Give us an update when you have it going.

Edited by EV Cali

I remember that cart installed on many budget Pioneer TTs from the early 80s. It was one of the nastiest sounding I've ever encountered. Was bright on the top but distorted, with a mid range suck out and limited separation. I would agree the OM10 is a much better solution and can be had online for $43 posted. I recently installed one on a similar Pioneer and it works very well.