Sign in to follow this  
garethb

5 centres in 5.1 setup

Hi, I'm fairly new to home theatre, only really started a few months back. Only ever had HTIB setups previously as I lived in units, but have moved into a house this last year and wanting to get a decent setup.

The first speaker I was able to get was a Aaron cc120. Long story short, got it off a mate for a case of beer after he upgraded. At this point, my little pioneers were being outclassed by the centre and while on gumtree I saw another cc120 going cheap. I had a read a few times that matching LCR is the way to go so I went for it and started looking for a third which I was able to get. Now I have 3 of these for my LCR channels. 2 vertical, the centre horizontal. 

I was in the process  of looking for some bookshelves to put as the surrounds but in my searching, I noticed 2 cc120's on an auction site and looks like I can get them at an absolute steal! 

So, would 5 of these speakers (the rears vertical as well) work in 5.1 setup? I really do like the sound of these speakers but I have also read MTM (mid-tweeter-mid) style speakers aren't well suited for surrounds. Would I better leaving these and getting bookshelves even though its an almost too good a price to pass up? Would the benefits of timbre matching outweigh the downsides of MTM surrounds?

I my lounge, the fronts are around 3.8m from the main seat, and the rears will be around the same.

Edited by garethb83

I think the 'same speakers, you like the sound and  the right price ' would out way any negative reasons. Would you have the L and R at the same height from the floor as the rears?

they will be slightly higher, at the back of the room angled down slightly to pass just over head high at the listening position. I don't have much choice really, best I could get away with with the bosses permission. Would that have any major impact not being on the same level?

Edited by garethb83

2 hours ago, garethb said: