Jump to content

Forum Upgrade - Fixes, Broken Stuff


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 263
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

On 26/07/2016 at 4:50 PM, Ron12 said:

Hi.  I found that not all forums that I used to follow were showing up as being followed, but worse still, in order to add them back, I had to visit numerous forum pages and configure notifications for each of them separately.  Is there a quicker and easier way that I have missed?

For example, in order to receive notifications for all the Geographical Viewers Forums, I'd have to visit the Geographic Viewers Forums page, then each of the 6 regional pages, then each of the 15 subregional pages, and set notifications for each, for a total of 22 page visits and 15 notification settings.  Then there are the other forums.  In the previous version of the website, you could do all that on one page, just choose that one and that one and that one and not that one etc. and that was it.

 

On 26/07/2016 at 10:06 PM, Scorchie™ said:

I have no fix for that yet, but I've asked the question.  I think its a feature ;)

I have a solution.

I noticed that under Free-to-Air Digital TV Reception, the various subforums are labelled as subforums, and you can set a notification at the top level.  However, under Geographic Viewer Forums, the subforums are only labelled as Forums, and you need to drill down all the way to the lowest level before you can toggle notifications.  Is this the cause of the problem?

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Malich
On 23/7/2016 at 10:46 PM, Malich said:

Not a fan of the theme's larger titles & names / larger avatars & badges / etc  & the resultant excess whitespace, but that's a personal choice. I understand you Windows types prefer that now ;). I can fix that for myself with some custom CSS.

On 25/7/2016 at 8:43 AM, pgdownload said:

Some feedback on the main page look and feel.

It might just be the format shift but its really suffering from more is less IMO.


For those using the Stylish plugin in their browser, I've created a custom style that cleans up a lot of the whitespace, tweaks a few sizes, etc. Only tested on Firefox so far, but should work OK in others that are supported by Stylish.

DTVForum_stylish_1.jpg DTVForum_stylish_2.jpg DTVForum_stylish_3.jpg

Feel free to use &/or edit it to suit your own preferences.

Edit, 01/08/16: I've updated the style to include fixes to the sidebars & Activity view, as well as some more general tidying up of various spacings & sizings. It's also now been tested in both Firefox (v38.something) and Google Chrome (v52.something). Chrome shows a bunch of errors relating to the "unset" keyword when installing (don't know why, since it's supported!), but it works fine. The only 'bug' I'm aware of is when viewing user profiles - the user's member status (member, senior member, etc) in the top banner is mostly obscured, but is visible in the sidebar.

Edited by Malich
Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Malich

Over in the other G&M-O/T thread,

4 hours ago, Scorchie™ said:

Double Spacing.  We can turn that off, not a problem.

Just noticed (in this thread) that turning off double-spacing has caused minor paragraph formatting issues with earlier older posts.

 

I vote for leaving it turned off, but I thought you should be aware of it...

Edited by Malich
Clarification
Link to post
Share on other sites


The previous platform allowed for a display of the topics that had had a recent post, rather than a raw listing of latest posts. (There was a very convenient Android version of that functionality too, which I could use with my mobile phone.)

 

I note that if a topic has had a flurry of recent activity it will show up in a raw listing of posts multiple times, taking up display space; and you then may have to "load more activities" to get to a topic that interests you (that has had a recent post). 

 

Perhaps there is a setting I have overlooked?  Alternatively I'd ask: is the ability to get a listing of the latest updated topics a "dormant option" in the platform that could possibly be exposed for use by forum members?

Link to post
Share on other sites
56 minutes ago, MLXXX said:

The previous platform allowed for a display of the topics that had had a recent post, rather than a raw listing of latest posts. (There was a very convenient Android version of that functionality too, which I could use with my mobile phone.)

 

I note that if a topic has had a flurry of recent activity it will show up in a raw listing of posts multiple times, taking up display space; and you then may have to "load more activities" to get to a topic that interests you (that has had a recent post). 

 

Perhaps there is a setting I have overlooked?  Alternatively I'd ask: is the ability to get a listing of the latest updated topics a "dormant option" in the platform that could possibly be exposed for use by forum members?

 

Hey MLXXX,

 

From an activity stream select "content types", then select "topics". That should display topics only rather than just posts.

 

I hope that helps and is what you meant. :)

 

JSmith :ninja:

Link to post
Share on other sites

One might think so, JSmith, but I just tried what you've suggested on my mobile phone and I'm still getting multiple entries for any topic that has had multiple recent posts.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Perhaps someone might help me here ... I posted a response to a comment here today, approximately 3-4 hours ago.  Unless I am mistaken it appears that this post has been removed, as was the post that I responded to.  Can anyone explain this ?

Link to post
Share on other sites


2 minutes ago, Scorchie™ said:

I removed it along with jsmiths comments.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Could you please explain why ?

Link to post
Share on other sites


18 hours ago, MLXXX said:

The previous platform allowed for a display of the topics that had had a recent post, rather than a raw listing of latest posts. (There was a very convenient Android version of that functionality too, which I could use with my mobile phone.)

 

I note that if a topic has had a flurry of recent activity it will show up in a raw listing of posts multiple times, taking up display space; and you then may have to "load more activities" to get to a topic that interests you (that has had a recent post). 

 

Perhaps there is a setting I have overlooked?  Alternatively I'd ask: is the ability to get a listing of the latest updated topics a "dormant option" in the platform that could possibly be exposed for use by forum members?

The above is more a comment on the fact I'm finding the new platform a little unwieldy rather than a reference to something about the new platform that is actually "broken".  I've now restated the matter in more detail in what is arguably a more appropriate thread, the opinion poll thread. See:-

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 02/08/2016 at 11:59 AM, Malich said:

Over in the other G&M-O/T thread,

Just noticed (in this thread) that turning off double-spacing has caused minor paragraph formatting issues with earlier older posts.

 

I vote for leaving it turned off, but I thought you should be aware of it...

 

It has had quite an impact. As displayed, thousands [millions?] of old posts now have paragraphs that run into each other, making them somewhat hard to read. My instinct is for that not to be done. Even posts created with the new platform before the turning off of "double-spacing" [however exactly that is defined and works] have been affected.

 

Malich has expressed his preference. Does anyone have a stong view about this? I'm not sure I fully understand what the objection was to the line spacing with the new platform. Was it really so bad?

Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, MLXXX said:

 

It has had quite an impact. As displayed, thousands [millions?] of old posts now have paragraphs that run into each other, making them somewhat hard to read. My instinct is for that not to be done.

 

Single or double space doesn't bother me, but I agree... it's made older posts a bit of a mess.

 

JSmith :ninja:

Link to post
Share on other sites


36 minutes ago, 709er said:

Where is the "preview post" option?

 

Especially useful for those uploading photos!

 

The last icon (a sheet of paper with a magnifying glass).

Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, MLXXX said:

 

The last icon (a sheet of paper with a magnifying glass).

Thanks for that :) Thought it must be too weird to be true!

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 26/07/2016 at 11:02 AM, pgdownload said:

IMO the default behaviour should take you to the most recent post.

Regards

Peter Gillespie

Hey Peter,

In an activity stream (either custom or a pre-set option) there is an option headed "read status".

There are choices there;

Unread item links take me to the top of the page

or

Unread items links take me to the first unread comment

JSmith :ninja:

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/5/2016 at 11:07 PM, JSmith said:

Hey Peter,

In an activity stream (either custom or a pre-set option) there is an option headed "read status".

JSmith :ninja:

You're a saint JS. A week later and the muscle memory multiple clicks is still taking its toll (only thing about the forum upgrade I thought was retrogressive)

My index finder salutes you.

Peter Gillespie

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, pgdownload said:

My index finder salutes you.

Peter Gillespie

:lol:

No worries Peter.

JSmith :ninja:

Edited by jsmith
spelling
Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a request for moderators. I've noticed moderator posts are colour coded. This is a good thing. However its presumably to draw attention (and raise the respect level) of moderator posts. We now have some moderators that also use their login quite actively to make non moderator related posts (Kazz is one I believe).

Anyway to turn the coding off on these posts? Or should moderators take a leaf out of system administrators books and have one login as a normal user and one as a moderator?

Regards

Peter Gillespie

Link to post
Share on other sites

How do you break up a quote from a post to be able to address multiple issues in individual sections?

I guess the first question should be is it possible to do that and if so how?

Edited by hrh
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, hrh said:

How do you break up a quote from a post to be able to address multiple issues in individual sections?

Highlight the text in the post, rather than quoting the whole post...

1 hour ago, hrh said:

I guess the first question should be is it possible to do that and if so how?

Then click on "quote this", which will pop up above the text you have highlighted in the post itself. Bit like WP. :)

JSmith :ninja:

Edited by jsmith
Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/5/2016 at 9:51 PM, Scorchie™ said:

Agreed, it looks pretty bad.  Reverted.

Thank you.

 

[Explanation for others: As a result of the format settings being reverted to what they had been, paragraphs in old posts no longer display as running into each other.]

 

14 hours ago, hrh said:

How do you break up a quote from a post to be able to address multiple issues in individual sections?

I guess the first question should be is it possible to do that and if so how?

A manual method and not as elegant as jsmith has provided, is as follows.

Cut and paste the text you want to address separately. Surround that separate text with the bulletin board codes {quote} and {/quote} but use square brackets, not the curly brackets that appear in this post. 

 

Example
 
 
{quote}This is the text to be quoted.{/quote}

 

If you click the preview button you should see the separate text as a plain quote (no attribution as to who wrote the text).

Edited by MLXXX
Link to post
Share on other sites

Aha... yes the former does look more "normal" or nice. I shall give it the old college try at some stage.

Link to post
Share on other sites

For work reasons I'm stuck behind a heavy proxy that makes Dtvforum almost impossible to use. Can barely log in and cant post or comment thanks to all the scripting and AJAXyness. Right now I'm using a proxy to get through the work/home cache proxy & it seems to work, but is there a no AJAX fallback that can be turned on?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3 weeks later...

I am having a problem when I click on next, or a new page number, it goes to the bottom of the next page instead of going to the next post at the top of the page. I am using Safari on a Macbook Pro.

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 13/08/2016 at 4:38 PM, hrh said:

How do you break up a quote from a post

or, just

On 13/08/2016 at 4:38 PM, hrh said:

 to be able to address multiple issues in individual sections?

 

hit

On 13/08/2016 at 4:38 PM, hrh said:

 

I guess the first question should be is it possible to do that and if so how?

quote

On 13/08/2016 at 6:52 PM, hrh said:

Aha... yes the former does look more "normal" or nice. I shall give it the old college try at some stage.

multiple times,

then backspace out the stuff youre not addressing

 

also simple and easy and works across different posts by different posters ;-)

Edited by mello yello
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3 weeks later...

however you cant ignore a user because he may be right though, thats not what it was intended for

and if you do, you cant spread rumours about that person, it kind of contradicts the ignore function

best to just report a user if he is spamming, or just simply disagrees with you :-)

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 weeks later...

The forum has been very quiet of late. I wonder whether part of that may possibly be related to frustrations with creating or editing posts. Here's a comment Malich made some time ago in another thread ( http://www.dtvforum.info/index.php?/topic/224664-nbn-download-speeds-in-practice-fast-enough-to-access-uhd/&do=findComment&comment=2080082 ):

Quote

 

(Is is just me, or is anyone else developing a love/hate relationship with this new editor?)

Difficulties I've experienced include inability:

  • to add text before a quote that commences your post. [If your post begins with a quote, you cannot place your cursor in front of the quote.]
  • to undo a change that has caused a loss of paragraph or font formatting, or disappearance of more text than you planned on deleting. [If you type something that causes formatting to go haywire, or text to be deleted, there is no place to click "undo"; unlike the previous platform.]
  • to add in a quote if you are editing a previously made post
  • to edit in an unformatted mode
  • to view in desktop mode on my mobile phone. [Typically forums provide this option. The mobile interface is typically an abbreviated version only of the website.]
  • to easily delete a quote in your post unless you access the hidden functionality (see below). It can appear impossible to delete a quote.

 

Hidden functionality

I wonder whether it would help to provide instructions on how to access the hidden functionality available with the use of the Ctrl key (to delete quotes); and the functionality to add a phrase from an existing post as a quote (selecting the phrase and clicking on the pop-up that then appears).

It also may not be known to users that they can go elsewhere on the forum and when they return they can resume creating a post they had started. 

Such instructions could be added to a part of the forum labelled "Help". We have a part of the forum labelled "Guidelines" but nothing I can find is labelled as help.

I'd have thought the software provider for the forum platform would as a matter of course be able to furnish a draft help page to offer to a forum operator.

For all I know there could be other hidden functionality. We users have been operating pretty much on a trial and error basis.

 

Mobile interface

The mobile phone interface (which cannot be disabled) can be confusing for a first time user. On my android mobile if I touch the icon consisting of three horizontal bars (next to the magnifying glass icon) the screen darkens slightly. It is not obvious that a sidebar has opened to the right of the screen and needs to be scrolled to to be accessed. Perhaps that info could be included in a help page.
 

Lack of post numbering combined with lack of posting time

I have found it difficult to refer in words to a previous post in a thread as there are no numbers to identify posts, and if the post is more than about a week old, all you see at the moment is a posting date, not a posting time. For example in this thread, there happen to be 6 posts by mello yello made on 23 July 2016. They bear no numbers and simply display as "Posted July 23".    [They are currently the 2nd, 4th, 6th, 8th, and 20th posts in this thread.]  So I can't say, Mello referred to such and such in posts 4 and 6, or in posts made at (say) 2.30pm AEST, and 3.30pm AEST. I guess I'd have to actually quote.

I'm not sure why posting times don't appear after a week. Perhaps it is to give a clean look. (However other forums I've looked at do include the posting time. Facebook does too). Personally I'd like to see posting times.

As a positive comment, I note that if a quote appears in a post then both the date and time appear for the quoted material.

Edited by MLXXX
Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

A lot of what you ask for is built in, platform functionality.  We could skin and remove a lot of it, but we don't particularly wish to do it every time they change their core functions (which is frequently).

Tapatalk, as a mobile application is also a reasonable alternative for you if you don't like the suppliers' mobile skin.

Invision (the supplier) removed the help system a while back as the functionality they use is fairly common across the Interweb.

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Scorchie™ said:

Invision (the supplier) removed the help system a while back as the functionality they use is fairly common across the Interweb.

 Hi, it seems I mustn't get out enough on the Interweb!

 

Edit: "Interweb" being a new term on me I've just looked it up. It's currently listed in the urban dictionary as " A sarcastic term for the internet. Often used in the context of parody regarding an inexperience, unskilled, or incoherent user. " See http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=interweb

However I'm sure that wasn't Scorchie's intent here. Just an alternative word that may find its way into more general use. :-)

Edited by MLXXX
Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Wow, this forum is much quieter than what I remember.  With the upgrade, am I missing something?  I'm selecting "Unread Content" and have the following settings -

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I am still having problems where I click on the next page number or on 'next' and the next page goes to the last post. I then have to scroll up to the top of the page.

2011 Macbook Pro using Safari, OS X El Capitan.

This is the ONLY site where this happens. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.




×
×
  • Create New...