Sign in to follow this  
doobie1

Screen Size/scope 16:9 - 2.35:1 Question

G'day everyone - just a question about the above on a screen we have.

purchased a new house with a screen diagonal size of 120", but seems widish to other images I've seen (but probably is ok, I'm just new at all this).

Total width is 280cm and height is 120cm.

It seems quite wide when seeing others a little more square (well they seem to be in the images).

It has black velvet surround and a slight grey colour screen (don't know about gain?).

But the main question is, will movies of 16:9 be ok or will the be cropped?

And what is 2.35:1 - should this be something I need to look for in a projector (I don't have a projector yet, that will be another post).

Seating will be 4.5m from screen and a projector will be attached to ceiling directly above seating.

thanks for any explaination/help.

You have a scope screen which is 2.35:1 ratio. I would definitely be getting a projector with motorized zoom so you can easily change between 16:9 and 2.35:1 formats. When watching 16:9 format, you will have black bars on either side of the picture.

You have a scope screen which is 2.35:1 ratio. I would definitely be getting a projector with motorized zoom so you can easily change between 16:9 and 2.35:1 formats. When watching 16:9 format, you will have black bars on either side of the picture.

Yep, and a 120inch Scope screen at that.

120inches at 4.5metres is fine, but, if convenient to your floor plan, you could afford to sit closer.

I sit 3.7 metres from my 130" screen, and would probably pull the couch even a bit further forward if SWMBO would let me. :no:

You will need either the Panasonic 8000, any of the 3 JVC X series or the Sony 500ES 4K which is pretty pricey.

The pana is the cheapest option and can be had online for under 3K.

120 scope should be ok for most throws but what is the room length? better to sure