Help Me Choose A Pj

Guest JohnA

I am asking on here as when it comes to these things i have no idea at all. I am a 2 channel guy, so when it comes to PJ's i am a noob who is wet behind the ears.

I am starting my research for the new house and this is what i require.

The room size is 5.9 x 4.4

will not be painted dark colours, but will only be watching mainly in the evenings, however some day time watching will also occur.

There will be blockout blinds over the windows but i do suspect there will be some light that may still enter.

The PJ will be at the back of the room sitting on top of my vinyl storage shelves and will be projecting onto a 110 or 120" 16:9 fixed screen/

Budget for PJ would be around $4.5k

Please throw some recommendations at me

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi John, my vote goes to Sony 55es ( I own this projector) , brilliant projector and the picture quality is impressive .

You can also consider JVC-X500.

I will PM you where you can get a good deal for these projectors.

JVC x500 isn't to far away from budget. Has lens memory.

Sony es55 also. Both great image. But the Sony doesn't have lens memory, but you mention 16:9 screen so that doesn't really matter either.

BenQ 7500 is super bright but your screen isn't too big to worry that anyway

Edited by Jutta

+1 on the Sony. I have been very impressed with it so far. I have a less than perfect viewing environment especially during the day and have been impressed with the extra bright modes for watching non-critical things like sport during the day.

In my view this is something that the Sony has a bit of an edge on the JVC in that its brightest mode is much brighter so gives you more flexibility when watching in less than ideal environments.

The JVC's seem to be great for dedicated rooms + scope screens due to lens memory.

If not a dedicated room and going 16:9 then the Sony would seem to meet your needs better.