Jvc X35/x55/x75/x95 Owners Thread

G'day Guys,

My first post here. I have just bought a JVC X75 from a fellow forumite for my soon to be built ht room in my soon to be built house.

I would like your advice on a couple of points, I'm a newbie to projection:

My room will be 4 x5 mtrs with a 2700 ceiling and projecting onto the 4 mtr wall,will a 130" screen suit this?

There is a deal on with TCC and their 130" screen is $530 or would it be better to buy Markybee's Screen Technics screen for $800?

Is there a projector mount that would suit best?

All and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Bruce.

130" is pushing the limits of the X75 - you'll need a fully light controlled room to get a good picture and may have to replace the lamp before the nominal end of life if you like a bright image. Also, mount near the minimum throw distance to maximise brightness.

Both are good screens. Looks like the ST has a gain of 1.0 and the TCC has a gain of 1.1 but is actually 133", so probably much of a muchness in terms of image brightness.

For the 130" the minimum throw is ~4.0m - after adding in a little margin for error say 4.3m from lens to screen. For 133" the minimum throw is 4.1m, but say 4.4m after allowing some margin. You can run the numbers here.

The best mounts are Peerless Precision geared mounts - easy to adjust finely with the gearing so you can align the image on your screen, as well as a quick release mechanism - see here (shorter/longer drops are available). Usually much cheaper even after shipping to buy from B&H Photo or Amazon than locally.

Edit: given the throw and the size of your room, you could always build a shelf on the back wall and mount there - wouldn't increase the throw distance much, especially with the 133" screen.

Edited by Quark

Thanks Quark,

So given the room size and projector do you think I would do better with a 120" screen. I'm not totally sure I'll be able to project onto a 130" screen given what you have written below.