Samsung Ps50b650 Vs Panasonic Th-p50g10a

Samsung PS50B650 vs Panasonic TH-P50G10A

I'm not an expert, not even close, but i've come to appreciate some pros and cons of these two TVs that i thought i'd share (in one place - 'cause my thoughts are scattered everywhere) that may help other noobs who are looking at 50" plasmas. This is not a Plasma vs LCD debate, both TVs on my shortlist are Plasmas.

Of course, this is entirely personal opinions - there is no science here :) Looking at the list, it's hard to say no to the Samsung - however - I cannot find any "head to head" reviews about the single most important aspect - THE PICTURE QUALITY!

* = Someone else has reported as so, elsewhere on this forum.

Samsung Pros

- ALL lights can be turned off - why more TVs/AVRs/DVD/Bluray players don't do this is a mystery to me.

- Looks - the unit is much more attractive than the Panasonic

- Menus - they look good, and they operate well

- DLNA (Wireless) with pretty good format support

- USB support for multimedia content.. though i'm not sure which formats are supported

- Remote - more comfortable and intuitive than the Panasonic - AND is backlit!

- "ambient light rejection" - Better than the Panasonic for daytime viewing* (some kind of screen filter)*

- Cheaper than the Panasonic^

- SD performance*

- Deinterlacing ("i" content?)*

Samsung Cons

- Bezel is hard up against the screen, so there could some reflection issues

- Glass bezel, though attractive, could have been a little more compact

- Glass bezel can also be reflective (people walking around/behind you, lights reflect off it more than the Panasonic)