Squeezeboxes - school me

OK so at the moment, I have a Linn Majik DS hooked up to my home network, to which there is a 1TB NAS connected, all in my main listening room.

But that leaves me with no music down the other end of the house, the main living area. I'd like to stream music down there too, I already have a Vaf Octavio sitting there doing not much.

I could get another Linn DS, but even the cheapest one is over 2 grand, and since music in my living area will be of the background variety, I don't want to spend too much.

Soo...... Squeezeboxes? Whats the deal? I'm a noob when it comes to them. Which model would be right for me? Do they just hook into ethernet over mains, and I could stream from my already existing NAS?

Cheers in advance!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

G'day,

Squeezebox has ethernet port and also has wifi; you'd need a mains-to-ethernet adapter for streaming via the mains.

Yer NAS would need to be running the Squeezebox server software to allow streaming to a Squeezebox. Some NAS devices are capable of this; some are not.

Which device is up to you. There's the classic (simple text display on the device and simple remote), the Duet (simple text display on the device and small LCD display on the remote for displaying album art), and the new version that features touch control.

Simplest and cheapest option is the Squeezebox classic IMHO.

--Geoff

I reckon the SB classic is your best bet too.. cheaper than the Sonos and you can also remote with an iphone with squeemote..

http://lukeredpath.co.uk/squeemote/

Ed: Ahh but cant buy the SB without a remote :D

Not sure about running Townky and SB together but looks like your NAS has Squeezebox support..

http://www.excaliberpc.com/590776/qnap-ts-119-diskless-1-bay-nas.html